Smartfood Selects Snack Foods

I’m a snack food junkie, so I try not to buy snack foods all that often lest I find myself covered in orange cheese, having eaten an entire bag of Doritos in one sitting.  Smartfood Selects might change that though, because they are both tasty and not terrible for you.

As a bzzAgent, I received a free full-size bag of Sour Cream and Onion Puffed Corn as well as two snack size bags, one of Garlic Tomato Basil Hummus Popped Chips and one of Cinnamon Brown Sugar Multigrain Popped Chips.

The puffed corn was tasty (even though I’m not a sour cream fan) and had an odd but strangely addictive texture, like fluffier popcorn without the crunchy kernel part. My son didn’t really like them, but everyone else had mostly good things to say. The puffed corn was not too salty or too powdery (I hate that mess that gets all over your fingers!) I also liked the recloseable bag that it came in. We’re always losing our chip clips in this house. The bag lasted in our house about a week, and the product never got stale, even though it contains no preservatives. They’re also baked, not fried, so there’s no greasy residue all over your hands or the bag.

I liked the popped chips better. They have a great crunchy texture. I had some leftover caramel dip in the house so we ate the cinnamon chips with that and it was DELICIOUS. I’m a sucker for cinnamon and sugar, so these were my favorite! The hummus chips were really interesting. We eat a lot of hummus in our house and it never occurred to me that garbanzo bean flour might make a good chip! These were the favorites of my two-year-old as well as some of the other people who sampled the snacks. I can’t speak to the staying power of the chips, because none of them lasted long enough to get stale.

I’m glad to have found a snack food that I can bring to parties or even munch at home that isn’t loaded with artificial ingredients. While I’ll still eat snack foods only in moderation, I’m glad to have found a smarter choice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

