Progresso™ Recipe Starters™

When it rains it pours – I had no campaigns for a few months, and then BAM! three at once. So here’s the first, Progresso Recipe Starters. Not much came in the bzzKit, just some coupons and a free can of Creamy Roasted Garlic Sauce (my choice – I’m a sucker for anything garlic!) But boy was I glad I had that can a few nights ago when dinnertime came around and I realized I didn’t have a plan! The recipe on the back of the can looked good (Easy Weeknight Chicken Pot Pie) but I decided to scan the QR code on the can to see what their other ideas for the sauce included. The one that caught my attention was for Chicken Enchiladas – and since I had everything on hand, I decided to go for it.

When I opened the can, the first thing I noticed was the sauce was much more liquid than I expected – not like a condensed cream soup. The second thing I noticed was that it smelled exactly like chicken pot pie! I started to second guess my dinner choice, but went ahead with enchiladas anyway. I reduced the amount of cheese (tip: don’t look at the nutritional info for these – yikes!) and used fresh chiles instead of canned.

My family loved the enchiladas, including the two-year-old. I’m not certain if I’ll make this recipe, but I do think I’ll be trying Progresso Recipe Starters again – next time, I’d like to try another flavor. It was really great to have on hand when I needed it and so convenient. I do wish they had a lower sodium version – especially when I’m already cooking, I like to have more control over the salt level of the foods I prepare.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

